top of page

Thu, 23 Feb

|

Christ Church Morningside Centre

Haarville Book Launch with Justin Davies

FREE Event This is a live, in-person event. Location: Christ Church Centre, 6a Morningside Road, EH10 4DD Join us to celebrate the launch of Justin Davies' new kids novel, Haarville! Darkly comic and full of heart, this book is perfect for fans of 'Malamander' and 'A Series of Unfortunate Events'.

Registration is closed
See other events
Haarville Book Launch with Justin Davies
Haarville Book Launch with Justin Davies

Time & Location

23 Feb 2023, 18:00 – 19:30 GMT

Christ Church Morningside Centre, 6a Morningside Rd, Edinburgh EH10 4DD, UK

About The Event

FREE Event

This is a live, in-person event.

Location: Christ Church Centre, 6a Morningside Road, EH10 4DD

Kids and adults of all ages welcome!!

Join us to celebrate the launch of Justin Davies' new kids novel, Haarville! Darkly comic and full of heart, this book is perfect for fans of Malamander and A Series of Unfortunate Events.

About the book:

Welcome to Haarville -- if you've arrived, you've survived. Off the grid and not on the maps, it's a place shrouded in fog and steeped in pungent pongs. Everything here smells fishy, especially the town's suspicious new arrivals.

Twelve-year-old Manx Fearty is an orphan (his family has a terrible habit of dying, terribly), and now he's about to lose their perpetual device shop to sinister newcomers claiming to be long-lost relatives. As he sets out to prove them wrong, Manx finds himself on the trail of a murky, mist-muddled mystery -- and it's one he needs to solve fast, otherwise Haarville is doomed.

With the help of his fiercely protective drag-queen guardian Father G (aka the fabulous Gloria in Excelsis), loyal best friend Fantoosh, and oystercatcher-with-attitude Olu, Manx wades through secrets, schemes and some stomach-churning seafood. Can he save both his family's legacy and his town?

About the author:

Justin Davies spent years flying all over the world as cabin crew before hanging up his wings to focus on writing for children. When he isn’t writing, Justin works at his local primary school, where he absolutely, never, ever tries out his story ideas on pupils. His first book, Help! I Smell a Monster, won the Fantastic Book Awards in 2021. He is also the author of Whoa! I Spy a Werewolf.

Tickets

  • Free Entry

    This ticket allows event entry for one individual.

    £0.00
    Sold Out
  • Free Entry + Book

    With this ticket you will receive one copy of ' Haarville' and free entry to the event.

    £7.99
    Sold Out

This event is sold out

Share This Event

bottom of page